Skip to content
Home » Blog » List of Governor General of India

List of Governor General of India

The post of Governor-General of India was established by Britishers in India. Firstly, it was only for the Bengal regions, and the first Governor-General of Bengal was Warren Hastings, with a tenure of office from 1772-1785. Then there is a list of governors-general of India, and later this post was called the Viceroy of India.

Governors-General of India

Governor-General of Bengal & Governor-General of India List

Ruling PeriodGovernor-GeneralMajor Reforms & Events
1772-1785Warren HastingsHe was Bengal’s first Governor-General.
The dual administration system was abolished.
Achievements include the 1773 Regulating Act, the founding of the Supreme Court in Calcutta, and the Asiatic Society of Bengal.
He was a participant in the first Anglo-Maratha War and signed the Treaty of Salbai.
During his reign, the first English translation of the Bhagavad Gita was completed.
1786-1793Lord CornwallisHe founded appellate courts, lower-level courts, and a Sanskrit college.
The Third Anglo-Mysore War was fought, and the Treaty of Seringapatam was signed.
Permanent Settlement and civil services are being implemented.
1793-1798Sir John ShoreCharter act of 1793 was passed as he came in.
 Policy of Non-intervention and Battle of Kharda are his achievements.
1798-1805Lord WellesleySubsidiary Alliance System was introduced.
Fought wars such as the Fourth Anglo-Mysore War and the Treaty of Bassein, as well as the Second Anglo-Maratha War.
In Calcutta, he founded the Madras presidency as well as Fort William College.
1805-1807Sir George BarlowUntil Lord Minto arrived, he served as interim Governor-General of India.
The reason for the shrinking amount of British territory is his love of economy and retrenchment.
During his reign, the Mutiny of Vellore occurred in 1806.
1807-1813Lord Minto IIn 1809, the Treaty of Amritsar was signed with Maharaja Ranjit Singh.
The Charter Act of 1813 was introduced.
1813-1823Lord HastingsAnglo-Nepal War (1814-16) and the Treaty of Sagauli, 1816 Abolition of Peshwaship Establishment of the Ryotwari System in Madras and Bombay Mahalwari System in the north-western Provinces and Bombay
1823-1828Lord AmherstAssam was annexed, resulting in the first Burmese war in 1824.
1828-1835Lord William BentinckAccording to the rules outlined in the 1833 Charter Act, the first Governor-General of India was appointed.
The Sati system was abolished, as was the Thugee system, as well as infanticide and child sacrifices.
The English Education Act of 1835 was suggested, and the Kolkata Medical College and Hospital was formed.
1835-1836Lord Charles MetcalfeLiberator of the Indian Press because he freely lifted restrictions on an open press in India.
1836-1842Lord AucklandDomestic school improvement.
India’s commercial business was expanding.
The first Anglo-Afghan conflict.
1842-1844Lord EllenboroughSindh was annexed.
1844-1848Lord Hardinge IFirst Anglo Sikh War.
1848-1856Lord DalhousieSecond Anglo-Sikh War (1848-49)
Introduction of the Doctrine of Lapse
Wood’s Dispatch 1854
First railway line connecting Bombay and Thane in 1853
Establishment of PWD
Indian Post Office Act
1856-1857Lord CanningThe Calcutta, Madras and Bombay Universities were established.
Revolt of 1857
Who introduced the doctrine of lapse?

Lord Dalhousie

The first railway line was connected between

Bombay and Thane in 1853.

Who was the governor-general during the revolt of 1857?

Lord Canning

Who was the first governor-general of Bengal?

Warren Hastings

Who was the first governor-general of India?

Lord William Bentinck

Leave a Reply